shoulder injury

MkMoore

Treasure-hunter
Registered
Reaction score
Website
lessthanheroic.net
I have a character (a 16 yr old boy) who is hit in the shoulder with a baseball. I'm trying to figure out how what kind of injuries he should sustain and how severe they are. It has to be a pretty hard throw, but I don't want him completely incapacitated. Also, would he need to go to the ER immediately, or would it be ok for him to wait until the next morning?

alleycat

Still around
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
It could just cause a painful bruise, or it could break something like the clavicle (collarbone). I have a friend who broke a collarbone a couple of years ago. It was painful but she was still up and about.

Going to the ER would depend a lot on whether they suspected bone damage or other serious injury. The next day would probably mean a trip to the kid's regular doctor first.

And remember, there's no crying in baseball!

Full disclaimer: I'm not a doctor or medical expert.

Last edited:

Quentin Nokov

King of the Kitties
Registered
Reaction score
I have no experience with baseball, but I remember watching a medical show where they reenact actual medical issues, and some kid got hit in the head with a baseball and got a concussion.

A cousin of mine broke his clavicle in football and he was about 16. I remember shortly after he broke it, my family and I went to his house and my cousin was in his parent's room watching a movie, just taking it easy. Within a week and a half or so, I think he was up and about.

For a 16 year old, I would think a bone-bruise would be suffice. It's not a break, but it hurts!