Medieval Physic & Cirurgian Needed STAT!

Creative Cowboy

A Reader Is A Writer's Best Friend.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
twitter.com
This looks like the place....

[I tried a search but, as I am a writer, I really need to further encouragement to procrastinate. You know what i mean. I did read some really interesting things some marketer decided was close to medieval medicine. .... I will try not to go back to it I said this at least once before.]:TheWave:

Can anyone here point me to where I can find information about The Humours? How about the four elements in medical diagnosis?

For example, should I only apply dung to an open wound and is there another application for this remedy? Is there a book that allows me to physic like a boss (circa 1199)? :hat:

Yes, European medieval medicine research time. I am a layman, Jim, not a doctor. (Please be gentle.) I am also in a foreign language country so a reference library is no good to me unless they deliver, or it's a safe Google site (I am stuck surfing with XP). I need a non-fiction place to start finding a variety of medieval medical diagnoses and I don't mind spending my time leisurely reading so long as it's not about someone's Google marketing. :flag:

I also need to create my own home library so if you have an Amazon affiliate link, hit me with it. I'll be happy to oblige if the book is what I am seeking. ;)

:thankyou:

Williebee

Capeless, wingless, & yet I fly.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.ifoundaknife.com
books.google.com

Do a simple search.

A variety of books, from a variety of definitions of the word, including:

The Letting of Humours: Blood in the Head-Vaine by Rowlands.

ULTRAGOTHA

Merovingian Superhero
Registered
Reaction score
In addition to Google books, also try archive.org (ULTRAGOTHA is reciting the mantra again....)