Status
Not open for further replies.

writerjohnb

Scribbler at Large
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.johnbushore.com
I'm an author who has self-pubbed and traditionally pubbed with only modest success. For five years, I've been bugging my daughter to allow me to publish her novel to Kindle. She wrote it while a member of my writers' group (since disbanded) and it's a high school girl-girl romance coming-of-age story.

I put it on Kindle on June 12, Thursday evening, figuring to begin promotion on the weekend. To my surprise, it took off, selling 12 copies that evening and 27 on Friday. I decided to just let things run their course. Well, it's been a month and the novel has been on the (lesbian) best seller list for the entire time and sells an average of about 70 copies per day.

My conclusion is that, with a target audience, a well-written book will do well if it catches the attention of an active group and causes a buzz. My novels (written for my own enjoyment and not targeted) had no audience to cater to.

By the way, her novel is "She's My Ride Home" and I've published exclusively on kindle (for now.)

JohnB

plumone

Registered
Reaction score
That's a great story regarding your daughter's work.

I'm interested to hear more about your own novels. You didn't write with a particular demographic in mind, sure. But you wrote them because you like them. And you are a part of a demographic (Ex- Sci fi lovers, War buffs, Retired at 40). I'm wondering if maybe you can look at what makes your novels unique and try to re-market them to those folks.

colombia1812

Registered
Reaction score
Congrats to your daughter and very interesting in regards to the niche...

writerjohnb

Scribbler at Large
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.johnbushore.com
That's a great story regarding your daughter's work.