Getting the date/location of my historical right

Marian Perera

starting over
Registered
Reaction score
Heaven is a place on earth called Toronto.
Website
www.marianperera.com
Hi guys,

I've never written a historical before, so I really need some help here.

I want the story set in England, in the past, because it's a riff on A Christmas Carol. However, it has to be set during a time when the MC's comfortable middle-class house would not have a telephone, but when it might be plausible for a robber to use a pistol in a home invasion. I also want the MC to be a banker. Would somewhere around the early 1800s sound reasonable to accommodate all these?

Also, could anyone suggest where the MC could live? The whole story takes place in his house (again, Christmas Carol), but at the same time, I'd like to have an idea of the house's location. It can't be in the center of London's financial district, partly because I imagine that would be prohibitively expensive and partly because it would be too easy for him to escape from what's happening in the house by just walking across the street.

I want him to be a bit isolated, and I've written an unusually heavy snowfall into the story for that reason, but at the same time I'd like it if the house itself was in the suburbs somewhere. Not expressing myself very well here, and I plan on doing more research, but I was just wondering if anyone had any suggestions on this. Thanks in advance!

ETA : I should mention, by the way, that I'm going to pitch this story/novella as a paranormal romance that happens to be set in the 1800s. So the history doesn't have to be rigidly accurate or to the level of a real historical, but at the same time I don't want to get anything obviously wrong either.

Last edited:

SJAB

Being edited for submission
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.susanjboulton.com