May I hang here?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nancy

Masquerading as normal...
Registered
Reaction score
I'm a newbie who has only ventured out of the Newbie board once so far. It was painless and I thought I'd try again.

Is it OK to hang here if I'm not officially a humor writer (yet)?

Currently I write for a trade publication. But I'd like to try my hand at humor writing. I have perused some suggested humor-writing web sites, but wondered if any of you could suggest any good online classes on humor writing?

Perks

delicate #!&@*#! flower
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.jamie-mason.com
Say something funny and you may dangle for certain. :) (I'd better run; the bouncers don't find me amusing...)

allenparker

Naked Futon Guy
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.allenparker.net
Welcome

I have this wonderful humor writing course. I only costs you the shirt off your back. Please insert your shirt into the CD drive and wait for your fun-filled course.

As an added bonus, for only your pants, you can get a second course. Yes, it's the Writing Funerals for Fun and Profit course. SImply remove your pants and stuff them into the modem slot.

(If you are funnier than that, you are a humor writer. Maybe not a good one, but a humor writer anyway.)

Allen

Nancy

Registered
Reaction score
test

Wow, that's pressure! I hope I can pass.

I think when I write a book about the psychotherapy biz, I will title the chapter on couple's counseling, "If My Wife Trusted Me More, I Wouldn't Have to Move In with My Girlfriend." A patient actually said that to me.

batyler65

Plot Monkey
Registered
Reaction score
Welcome, Nancy!
You don't have to have writing credits to hang here, just a sense of humor.

I've never taken an online class, so I can't recommend any. There are some humor resources pinned to the top of this board, and some prompts for when the well runs dry.