Is there much unexplored ocean (or land)?

Fruitbat

Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
So, don't laugh at my question. Or okay, do laugh at it then. :)

Wondering if there's much of the ocean depths that haven't been explored (or remote places on land, although that seems less likely).

How possible do you think it is that there are a few large creatures around? Maybe ones we thought were extinct or that some legends are based on, like the Loch Ness monster, etc.?

J.Emerson

Registered
Reaction score
More than 90% of the ocean is unexplored. That figure is much higher obviously for land, though there are definitely places scientifically unexplored in deserts and jungles and Greenland/Antarctica.

Koschei

eternally screaming
Registered
Reaction score
We've explored about 5-7% of the ocean. I'm a marine biologist so I can't really say for land but it is entirely possible that there are species lurking in the deep that were thought to be extinct. It has even been hypothesised that Megalodon might still be down there somewhere (but there's barely any evidence to support this; it's just speculation, really). To my knowledge, no one has ever seen a giant squid first hand but we know they're down there.

Last edited:

waylander

Who's going for a beer?
Registered
Reaction score
Isn't there a legend about a large swamp-living creature in Congo?

Ken

Banned
Kind Benefactor
Reaction score
a recent quote from the news summed it up nicely
"we have better maps of the moon and Mars than of the ocean floor"

williemeikle

The force is strong in this one.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.williammeikle.com
Up until 2008 it was thought there were only around 100,000 Western Lowland Gorillas left. Then they went into a new area of the Congo and found 125,000 more of them. So the potential for big finds is still there, even on land.

Koschei

eternally screaming
Registered
Reaction score