PDA

View Full Version : Re-emergence of Ancient Illness

startraveller
06-09-2014, 10:41 AM
My WIP is a sort of apocalyptic survival story, and the main cause to this set-back of human progression is a viral pandemic. The reasoning I'm putting behind the pandemic is an ancient burial site being unearthed, and the virus being spread from the remains. As I am not a scientist, I'm unsure of how wrong this may be.

1. Is it possible for a virus or disease to be spread from the remains of a human or other mammal? What sort of contact with the remains would be optimal for infection?

2. How long can said virus/disease last through burial? Would it be capable of living for only several days, months, decades, etc.? Would there be any threat upon opening a casket or tomb of an infected person?

A re-located Curse of the Pharaohs is my backup plan.

ULTRAGOTHA
06-09-2014, 10:50 AM
Connie Willis does something similar, though not as widespread, in Doomsday Book.

Or a virus can escape from a lab, such as smallpox or the Spanish flu, and then mutate.

Actual viri in the world mutate all the time. See MERS right now--30 to 40% death rate.

Bolero
06-09-2014, 01:15 PM
Google anthrax. It survives in spores and is very long lived. There is an island off the UK that was used for testing anthrax which is still off limits (the last I heard).

waylander
06-09-2014, 01:31 PM
When they were excavating for the new Crossrail tunnels in London they found a number of plague pits from the Black Death. There was genuine concern that there might be live plague bacteria around. None was found to my knowledge but that does not preclude the possibility.

MDSchafer
06-09-2014, 04:06 PM
As for your questions, I'm not a scientist, but I have a decent amount of medical training.