Signage, Swag for Author Events

Status
Not open for further replies.

ConnieBDowell

Registered
Reaction score
Website
bookechoes.com
I'm gearing up for my first author event, and I know I need something besides just me, books, and a table. (It's part of a larger, local author and artist event, so I'll need to attract folks to my table.) For those who have done events/book signings before, what worked well for you? Did you give out bookmarks or other freebies? What printer did you use for signs and swag? Staples, Vistaprint, etc.?

Thanks in advance for any advice.
P.S.: The event is going to be outside.

Old Hack

Such a nasty woman
Super Moderator
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Connie, you should ask your publisher if they'll help you with this. Most are pleased to provide something.

ConnieBDowell

Registered
Reaction score
Website
bookechoes.com
Thanks, Old Hack.

Actually, I am an indie author, so I'm on my own. Oh well, I think I'll do well enough with what I come up with and learn for the next event.

mada

Getting back in the groove
Registered
Reaction score
I typically get "signing cards" from psprint.net or GotPrint. Take a 4x6 postcard, put the book cover (or a series of covers) on one side, then the blurb and a QR code which contains buy links, my site and mailing list sign up on the back.

I'm not doing much beyond that because it's not in the budget and because I seriously wonder how much people even realize they have swag once they get home. Sometimes, I will do bottlecap magnets, which I make myself. They're easy and cheap (buy a large quantity of supplies and then have them on hand whenever you need them)

Many authors I know are also doing things like the rubber bracelets, chapstick, hand sanitizer or personalized items that relate to the book

WeaselFire

Benefactor Member
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
P.S.: The event is going to be outside.
So chocolates are probably out. :)