can you just own the tech level?

aguywhotypes

Registered
Reaction score
Website
abstractsbybrian.com
I want to write a story, I have no idea how long it will be. Might even turn into an interactive fiction story.

I want to just start out with the following as everyday standard procedures.

1. space travel is easy.. like how we hop on jets to go from Miami to London.. we could travel to mars, jupiter etc.

2. we are now mining asteroids for fuels and minerals.

my question is do I have to explain any of this? or can I just 'own' it and state it like this is normal life now and then off I go with the story.

thanks

milkweed

Abuses commas at will.
Registered
Reaction score
I defined, ie built, my world first then added characters, etc. I have a more or less three sentence back story that explains the why and wherefore of how my characters, world, got to be the way it is, and yes there's space travel, etc.

That said I write as a hobby I'm a professional fine artist, so can't really tell you if I'm doing it right or not. I suggest reading lots of scifi/fantasy and see how others are doing setting things up in their worlds.

I've been reading scif/f since I was knee high to a grasshopper so yeah, get reading would be my suggestion, it's also Stephen Kings suggestion in his book On Writing.

Brightdreamer

Just Another Lazy Perfectionist
Registered
Reaction score
Website
brightdreamersbookreviews.blogspot.com