Why don't my friends want to read my stuff?

Status
Not open for further replies.

gettingby

Registered
Reaction score
I'm wondering if any of you guys have this problem. All of my friends would say in a second that I am a writer. They can tell you where I have been published and know the awards I have won. All that is from being a journalist. I don't know but I always assumed they read my stuff. Now that I am a fiction writer no one really asks what I'm working on or if they can read it. Even when I talk about a story I'm working they don't seem to care. Why aren't people more excited about my writing? I do have a few writer friends that I workshop with, but my other friends could care less if I actually write or not. They would still call me a writer and leave it at that. I'm not even sure why I wish they were more interested other than it is just a huge part of my life. Do your friends read your writing? How did you get them to do it?

RightHoJeeves

Banned
Flounced
Reaction score
To be honest, if your friends aren't interested in reading your writing, then don't push it. It's not fair on them, and it could make things awkward.

jerrimander

No one takes me seriously. Really.
Registered
Reaction score
I've encountered this. one friend told me she didn't want to read my ms because she was worried about hurting my feelings. if she didn't like it, and she lied, i'd recognize the lie. if she told the truth, she'd hurt my feelings with the truth. I told her, by not reading, she already hurt my feelings by rejecting a huge part of my life. I don't ask her to read anymore. she can buy it if she wants to read it. people are weird.

veinglory

volitare nequeo
Self-Ban
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.veinglory.com
Only my friends who are also writers regularly read my work. I wouldn't assume it is the norm for friends to be all up in your WIPs.

MynaOphelia

lost her spaceship again
Registered
Reaction score