Literary Agent Writers with . . . Literary Agents

Status
Not open for further replies.

New kid, be gentle!
Registered
Reaction score
Just wasting time and came upon this interview by literary agent Seth Fishman of The Gernert Company. He had written a YA book called The Well's End, and in the course of the interview, he said this:

First, I'll not deny that working in the business has given me an edge in terms of understanding what's important, what's doable, and how to make those things happen, but the truth of the matter is: writing still comes first. I've written three books before The Well's End, all in drawers. I queried many agents before I landed with my current (and fantastic), Kirby Kim. I've had books rejected by editors, by friends, all the same things that anyone else goes through. That said, I know what I look for as an agent, I know what I believe works, and I certainly took that into account when writing the book.

So he's a literary agent who got another literary agent, Kirby Kim of Janklow and Nesbit, to represent him. Do you guys think that was necessary? Fishman was already a literary agent. He knows all about contracts and editors and stuff like that. Why would he need another literary agent to represent him?

If I was in his position, I'd just represent myself and quit the maddening process of querying all together. I thought it was just odd that he took the time to find a literary agent for his book when he himself was already a literary agent.

What do you guys think?

suki

Opinionated
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
So he's a literary agent who got another literary agent, Kirby Kim of Janklow and Nesbit, to represent him. Do you guys think that was necessary? Fishman was already a literary agent. He knows all about contracts and editors and stuff like that. Why would he need another literary agent to represent him?

Seems that he thought it was prudent, and that is all that matters. Necesary? Who knows. Advisable? Likely.