• Read this stickie before posting.

• In order to reduce the number of new members requesting a Beta reader before they're really ready for one, we've instituted a 50 post requirement before you can start a thread seeking a Beta reader.
    • You can still volunteer to Beta for someone else; just please don't request someone to Beta for you until you're more familiar with the community and our members.

Looking for First Reader(s)

Status
Not open for further replies.

douval

Registered
Reaction score
A bit about me:

I've been writing seriously for about four years now and have churned out somewhere between two and three million words.

I submit short stories to pro-paying magazines (no sales yet, but getting quite a few personal rejections), and indie publish both novels & shorts.

My main genres are:

Fantasy - SF - Urban Fantasy / Mystery / YA

Roughly I'd say about 70% of what I write falls into the first three (Fant/SF/UF), then mystery 20%, and YA 10%.

What I'm looking for:

I'm looking for a first reader to find typos and basic mistakes.

A typo is just what it sounds like ... it's not rejigging every single comma in the manuscript, it's something like "their" instead of "they're," or "were" instead of "where" ... you get the picture.

A 'basic mistake' is something like: 'How did this character manage to get over here all of sudden?!' ... 'Where did that gun come from?' ... 'When did she change from a yellow shirt to a red one?!'

I already have writing mentors (... people 20/30 years down the road in publishing / writing ...) helping me with craft, so I'm not looking for critique.

What I can give in return:

• All of the above. (Pointing out typos and mistakes)

• Also, I've designed a ton of book covers, so if you're indie-publishing too (and designing your own covers) then it might be fun to flip covers back and forth to get a fresh set of eyes on them ...

What I can't / won't give in return: