PDA

View Full Version : Bombs that blow up a hospital

mrabsolutefan
05-06-2014, 07:25 PM
I wanna blow up a hospital. :D

Just kidding. It is actually the antagonist of my novel who plans to do it. He doesn't have a lot of experience in the 'incendiary department'. Anyway, what kind of inflammable/combustible materials are generally found in a, say, seedy, sub-urban public hospital?

jerrimander
05-06-2014, 07:35 PM
I wanna blow up a hospital. :D

Just kidding. It is actually the antagonist of my novel who plans to do it. He doesn't have a lot of experience in the 'incendiary department'. Anyway, what kind of inflammable/combustible materials are generally found in a, say, seedy, sub-urban public hospital?

Gosh, how often has that thought crossed my mind?

Of the top of my head, and I'm no expert, don't hospitals, even seedy ones, have a surplus of tanks of highly explosive O2 tanks? The kind you can't have a lit cigarette near?

Cath
05-06-2014, 07:36 PM
How big is this hospital, and in what country? Does he need to destroy one department or the whole building? Does he intend to harm people or just property (i.e. are we looking at a bomb projecting shrapnel, which requires premeditation, or a simple 'make use of the available materials' bomb?)

There are plenty of combustible materials to be found in even a basic medical facility - not least oxygen - but the size of the explosion and damage caused is going to depend on what, where, and how much damage you want to cause.

mrabsolutefan
05-06-2014, 07:51 PM
How big is this hospital, and in what country? Does he need to destroy one department or the whole building? Does he intend to harm people or just property (i.e. are we looking at a bomb projecting shrapnel, which requires premeditation, or a simple 'make use of the available materials' bomb?)