Why so many agents?

hvxjim

Registered
Reaction score
I'm new to novel writing. I was involved in film making for many years, so excuse my ignorance -

But I am reading stories about writers sending out 100 or more queries to agents.

If there are only six major publishers left, why are there so many agents?

I can't wrap my head around this.

suki

Opinionated
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I'm new to novel writing. I was involved in film making for many years, so excuse my ignorance -

But I am reading stories about writers sending out 100 or more queries to agents.

First, there are many more than 6 publishers. There are many viable and even desireable publishers beyond the "big" 6 or 5 or whatever.

Second, it takes specialized knowledge to: (1) know which editors within each publisher to target, (2) to get that editor to read a submission. There are very few agents who rep "everything." You need to find the agents who effectively represent your specific market and genre.

Third, because there are a ton of writers.

Fourth, and money to be made.

Fifth, and a gambler in every corner.

But, maybe most importantly, while there may be 100+ agents who rep any given genre or market, not all of them are equal. You have to research to separate the wheat from the chaff. Who is a good fit for you and what you write.

~suki

Filigree

Mildly Disturbing
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.cranehanabooks.com
There are five or so big publishers left, and hundreds of respected middleweights, plus the specific international markets, plus subsidiary rights. There's a lot of work for agents, considering how big the playing field still is.