Publishing contract in hand - should I get an agent?

popgun62

Keeper of the pace.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.tobytatestories.com
I have a publishing contract from Permuted Press for four books, but I want to make sure I'm getting the best deal I can get. The thing is, I am a fairly new author. I have four books out, but no really big sales. Permuted Press is offering a pretty low "token" advance, which is standard for unknown authors, they said. Any advice?

PortableHal

Not-so-new
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.marsneedswriters.com
Congratulations, Toby. A four book contract sounds like a terrific deal.

I don't know much about Permuted Press. If they have a big audience (strong following, great website, terrific p.r. people, etc), then the advance isn't that important, is it? In other words, if you're going to earn out the advance and make thousands in royalties, the upfront money isn't the main concern.

That's a big "if", though. Do you have any idea how well their authors are doing?

D.A Watson

Writer of Wrongs
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.amazon.co.uk
Getting an agent after a publishing offer

I'd imagine getting an agent is easier if you have the offer of a contract on the table from a decent publisher? I'm asking because this just happened to me about an hour ago, and I'm without representation!

jcwriter

Splish splash I was takin' a bath
Registered
Reaction score
Finding an agent at this point might take some time, particularly if the advance being offered doesn't generate enough commission. You might consider contacting an intellectual property attorney with experience in publishing, someone who'll charge you a flat fee to review the contract.

Congratulations, and good luck.

Fizgig

Registered
Reaction score