"Let me know if other agents request your manuscript"

The_Ink_Goddess

we're gonna make it out of the fire
Registered
Reaction score
Ah, help me, guys. So I'm relatively new to the query game, despite not being new to AW.

I got a nice full request off my query (yay!). Sent off all required materials (full and synopsis), with just a quick note to say "these are attached, I look forward to hearing from you." I didn't mention that it's being read by other agencies (the full is out with 4 others) because I didn't want it to feel like a death match and he didn't ask (another agent who requested did, so I said it was). However, in his receipt e-mail, he said, "In the meantime, if you could let me know if other agents request your manuscript or offer representation, I would greatly appreciate it."

Is this a cue to tell him that the full is out with the other agencies? To only let him know if anyone else requests while he has the full? I obviously know that it's common courtesy to let the other agents know in the event of a offer of rep, but I'm not sure about this.

Or am I just overthinking it? :tongue

JanetReid

Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Yes, you do tell him other agents have it. My guess is that he prioritizes his reading based on that.

Maryn

At Sea
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Yes, you do tell him other agents have it. My guess is that he prioritizes his reading based on that.
Oh, good, my instincts served me well for once.

I presume you have no obligation to announce which agencies or how long they've had the full. Is that correct?

Maryn, greenhorn

hester

New year, new avatar.
Registered
Reaction score
Hi Ink!

First, congrats on the requests!!