Taking a less demanding job for my writing (Request for Commiseration/Anecdotes?)

Status
Not open for further replies.

ArcticFox

The Childlike Empress
Registered
Reaction score
I made a huge decision over Spring Break and I would really love to hear stories about others who have done similar things, or just reassurances that I am not crazy for doing this.

I am currently a high school English teacher with an hour commute. It takes up so much of my time, plus the stress and everything that goes with it. I am sure you can imagine lesson planning, grading, meetings, parents, students, etc. can take up time outside of the school day. I admit this is my first year teaching and everyone tells me that it gets easier after the first year and I know plenty of authors have been teachers and still manage time to write.

I just can't help feeling that the best thing for me is to take a less demanding job so I can spend time writing and not worrying about my day job outside of it. It would be juggling two careers and in my experience if you want to be good at something you have to focus.

So, I made my choice. I resigned from the district. It's scary and a relief. I feel like a failure that I have to quit this career that I do enjoy and just started, but I had to weigh the pros and cons.

So, anybody have words of wisdom or similar stories? It's hard to know if you made the right decision sometimes. I am just hoping and trusting I have.

gothicangel

Toughen up.
Registered
Reaction score
Have you had any thing published/received payment for your writing? If not, to quit your job without any guarantee of being published (good books can still fail to sell) seems like pissing in the wind. Writing is great, but being poor is shit.