Advance / Royalty / How to get more?

Wendy

Since I could not find an agent to rep my book, I am hoping some will offer advice.

I am a first-time author.

I was just offered publication by Leisure Books, and would like to know how far I can push Don D'Auria in our negotiations.

Don offered me $2,500 advance + 4% royalties on a mass market paperback, cover price $6.99. Genre: Suspense.

Looks like a boilerplate?

I understand that Leisure pays low advances, but am wandering how much I can get out of them? Is Leisure capable of paying 8%?

Any experience dealing with Don?

Whatever you can share,

Wendy

waylander

Who's going for a beer?
Registered
Reaction score
Wendy said:
Since I could not find an agent to rep my book, I am hoping some will offer advice.

I was just offered publication by Leisure Books, and would like to know how far I can push Don D'Auria in our negotiations.

Don offered me $2,500 advance + 4% royalties on a mass market paperback, cover price $6.99. Genre: Suspense.

I understand that Leisure pays low advances, but am wandering how much I can get out of them? Is Leisure capable of paying 8%?

Whatever you can share,

Wendy

Have you tried approaching agents since you got an offer?
It would surprise me that no agent would offer to assist you when you have an offer on the table.

Jamesaritchie

Registered
Reaction score
Wendy said:

Whatever you can share,

Wendy

Leisure relased a hardcover of mine in paperback, but it wasn't because I wanted them to do so.

4% royalties ought to be a crime. If you've been offered a contract, you should now be able to find an agent. I would not sign a $2,500 + 4% royalty deal. Ever. Now that you have an offer, start calling agents. Most should take the call, and it's very likely one or more will ofer to help in some way.

Wendy

Not as easy as it sounds

Thanks for your replies.