• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

What should improvement look like?

Status
Not open for further replies.

spikeman4444

The snozberrys taste lke snozberrys
Registered
Reaction score
I've been writing my entire life and writing seriously since about 2009. I've arrived at a place where I know what good writing is. I recognize it and can know why writing is good, what works and what doesn't, and I know what elements are not working when I read something that I don't like.

With that said, why is it that when I write, I'm not churning out golden eggs every time? How come I can have a few chapters in an ms that are awesome, and then six or seven chapters in between that are no better than what I wrote five years ago? Is it normal to see improvement only coming along in segments rather than in entire works at once? I mean, does improving as a writer simply mean improving as an editor? If I know what works and what doesn't and can spot it and fix it, is that what I've really improved at? Can I never just sit down and write the whole story well the first time around? Is it about slowly breaking myself of old habits?

I guess the analogy that comes to mind is a baseball player. He may know how to hit a fastball and bat .300, but two thirds of the time he will still strike out. As a writer, is it expected that after five years I'm still making the same mistakes and striking out for 3/4 of the novel and only noticing improvement in that other quarter? Why can I only notice the bad in my writing after it's written and not WHILE I'm actually writing it???

What are your opinions on how improvement should be measured?

Anninyn

Stealing your twiglets.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.fivesquids.co.uk
Well, improvement doesn't mean perfection for a start. Hopefully, the reason you aren't getting it absolutely right every time is because you're stretching yourself a little more than you used to.