• Read this: http://absolutewrite.com/forums/showthread.php?288931-Guidelines-for-Participation-in-Outwitting-Writer-s-Block

before you post.

Not enough hours in the day

Status
Not open for further replies.

dontpanic

and carry a towel
Registered
Reaction score
I have the strangest form of writer's block where I find I am so busy throughout the day, I can't find time together to get a decent amount of writing done. When I do have the time and try to write, my mind is in so many other places I can't stay focused.

I'm currently in my third year of my degree, on a year abroad, so both my workload and extra-curricular activities have increased. I find that once I've ticked off everything in my day and have time for myself, I tend towards passive activities like reading or watching a film rather than pro-actively writing.

All I'm doing is keeping a blog for my year abroad, but my other blog and all writing activities have had to fall by the wayside. I tried to do NaNoWriMo in November but found it more stressful than anything else - I think I threw myself into the deep end.

Has anyone experienced something similar? I feel like at this stage, even talking about writing would really help.

Many thanks!

NRoach

Registered
Reaction score
My rule of thumb is to pretty much only write when I want to write. If you can't summon the motivation to sit down and put finger to key, then don't. You're not going to have your writer card revoked if you let other things take over for a while.

Jamesaritchie

Registered
Reaction score
Talking about writing is usually one of the problems. It's one more very common way of procrastinating. There are no tips, tricks, or secrets. There is only self-discipline. Writing gets done by sitting down and writing. Doing so is a choice, and everything else is procrastination and excuses.

Choose hours. When those hours roll around, sit your butt down and write. Do nothing except write. Do the same thing the next day, and the day after that.