When you don't have a bio

aus10phile

committed plantser
Registered
Reaction score
The standard advice regarding bios that I've seen is if you don't have anything relevant, skip this paragraph in your query letter.

If the agent, however, specifically asks for a bio in their submission guidelines, wouldn't that be bad to ignore that? Or is that not considered breaking the submissions guidelines if you don't have anything?

I don't have anything great for a bio paragraph (no fiction pub credits or awards), so I'm wondering if any of the things below is worth a line in the query to satisfy the bio requirement, or if it's still best to skip it all together:

- I'm a frequent contributor to [magazine you've never heard of], readership approx. 50,000

- I'm a freelance writer and editor

- I've made a living for the past 10 years as a copywriter

- I've written over 1,000 radio commercials that aired nationally

Ugh. I might as well just say, "Other people have paid me more money than I'll probably make on a book to write stuff that you don't care about." Ha ha.

Advice?

Cathy C

Ooo! Shiny new cover!
Kind Benefactor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.cathyclamp.com
What's wrong with:

"I'm a professional copyeditor who works primarily in radio advertising. This is my first novel."

Of course, humor is never bad. I sort of like your last line. With a little modification, it could get a chuckle, which isn't a bad thing in a query.

"I hope someday strangers will pay me for more than advice on the best laundry detergent to buy."

:ROFL:

Last edited:

triceretops

Banned
Flounced
Reaction score
Website
guerrillawarfareforwriters.blogspot.com
What's wrong with:

"I'm a professional copyeditor who works primarily in radio advertising. This is my first novel."

Of course, humor is never bad. I sort of like your last line. With a little modification, it could get a chuckle, which isn't a bad thing in a query.