PDA

View Full Version : 2014: It's going to be a big year

Koelsong
01-20-2014, 05:00 AM
This is the year that I take up this journey in earnest. I've been writing for over 10 years now on and off. I've sold some short stories to semi-pro and pro markets. I've completed a couple of novels which have been trunked as learning novels.

At the end of last year I quit work to write full time. While that may seem premature, I'm past 40 now and I think it's time to give this 100% of my time and effort. The goal is to never go back to work, and I've given myself 5 years to achieve a livable income.

So, goals for this year:

1. Complete and revise the 15 short stories languishing on my hard drive, and then submit them until they sell.

2. Write and submit 5 new short stories to markets, making a total of 20 short stories for the year.

3. Complete the first draft of 2 novels (1 UF, 1 Fantasy).

4. Revise one novel to submission level and submit to agents/publishers.

5. Write a SF serial. If it comes out well, self-publish.

I think that should keep me busy :) I'll be writing full time, which means 4-6 hours a day while my son is at school. I think that's a reasonable amount for the year. Anything else will be a bonus.

I'm both nervous and excited, but glad to have the opportunity to go at this thing full-tilt.

M.

Phaeal
01-20-2014, 05:16 PM
Good luck with the switch to full time writing, and remember: It's still one day at a time. Pick reasonable daily word count goals (depends entirely on how fast YOU can write without burning out) and marketing days (for research and submitting) and GFI! Also, enjoy. :D

Koelsong
01-20-2014, 11:57 PM
Thanks Phaeal! Also, SO MANY SMILIES.

M :)

PamelaC
01-21-2014, 07:03 AM
You're living the dream! I hope you find all the success you want and then some!