• Read this: http://absolutewrite.com/forums/showthread.php?288931-Guidelines-for-Participation-in-Outwitting-Writer-s-Block

before you post.

Motivate Me!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

PamelaC

Registered
Reaction score
Hi, all. I'm a daily lurker, seldom poster here, and have been for awhile. I've been trying to write a novel for years, but have yet to finish even a first draft of anything! I lose steam or focus or whatever, and I quit writing altogether for several months. Then I'll start getting the itch to write again, I'll start brainstorming, I'll start plotting and world building and really get into all of the pre-writing. I'll spend weeks scribbling notes and ideas in a notebook, and just visualizing characters and scenes that I get do excited about. I become quite obsessed with my story, and delight in the time I get to spend planning and creating. I have all the time I want, I'm a teacher by day, an unmarried, childless person who lives alone by night. I have no excuses.

But! I'm afraid to start actually writing this latest story because I'm worried I'll just quit again. I can spend hours researching and imagining, but when I sit down in front of the blank screen it's torture to get a few hundred words out on a scene I can see so vividly in my head.

I think I'm a bit OCD, which is why I enjoy the planning process so much. What I want is to be able to just write in such a way that I pour it all out, good, bad, or whatever. I'm trying to convince myself that finishing the story is my only goal. It's hard to turn off my inner editor and critic though. (Did I mention that I'm an English teacher? Yeah. It's an asset and a curse).

Someone please inspire me to just WRITE! Tell me it's okay for it to all be a ridiculous hot mess for this first draft. And if you've got any tips or hints, I'd love to hear them!

Thanks!

alleycat

Still around
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score