Does anyone here work in PR?

RightHoJeeves

Banned
Flounced
Reaction score
Anyone?

I won't hold it against you if you work for an agency, promise.

Kylabelle

unaccounted for
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
AW is big enough there are probably people here working in just about any job you can think of. And some of us are out of work, and some of us wish we were out of work, and some of us even make a living writing, even writing what we most love to write.

Do you think working in PR is especially compatible with writing fiction? (Just curious.) I have worked in advertising, though not for a long time, and when I did I was a graphic artist, not a word person. So, a different angle on promotion entirely.

RightHoJeeves

Banned
Flounced
Reaction score
Do you think working in PR is especially compatible with writing fiction? (Just curious.) I have worked in advertising, though not for a long time, and when I did I was a graphic artist, not a word person. So, a different angle on promotion entirely.

In some cases I think PR is compatible. A large part of the job is copywriting and making words as efficient as possible, so that crosses over. I work for a museum, so most of what I do isn't promotion for consumer products, but promotion of things newsy things like research, stories behind artefacts, etc etc. In some ways it's quite like being a journalist.

Kylabelle

unaccounted for
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Wow, that sounds like a really cool job. How'd you happen onto it?

RightHoJeeves

Banned
Flounced
Reaction score
Wow, that sounds like a really cool job. How'd you happen onto it?