PDA

View Full Version : First agent experience jitters

OldYAGuy
01-15-2014, 06:51 PM
I’m a newbie in a larger agency and have been with them for five months. I handed in my second set of revision suggestions in early December. A few questions:
Should I be concerned if my agent wants a “few more tweaks” before sending it out?
In your experience, do agents ever ask for more revision as a way to forestall telling their client they aren’t having luck with publishers?
I’m a newbie, and, yes, I’m impatient, but realistically, how long should a client wait before considering another agent?

Ferret
01-15-2014, 07:25 PM
It's not uncommon for a manuscript to go through several rounds of revision before being sent out. Some agents do this regularly. I don't think it means the agent has been having trouble with publishers, especially since it doesn't sound like the manuscript has even been pitched to publishers yet. I think considering another agent at this stage would be very premature, not to mention unfair to the agent who has already put in some work on your manuscript.

I understand being anxious, but try to relax. It hasn't been that long, and publishing moves slowly.

Also, don't be afraid to talk to your agent if you have questions about the process and the timeline.

amergina
01-15-2014, 07:30 PM
I’m a newbie in a larger agency and have been with them for five months. I handed in my second set of revision suggestions in early December. A few questions:
Should I be concerned if my agent wants a “few more tweaks” before sending it out?

No...though you *can* also say no, if you feel that a few more tweaks aren't worth it and have a good reason why they aren't. It's a partnership.

It also depends on how editorial your agent is. Mine is fairly editorial and she's often right about the edits.

In your experience, do agents ever ask for more revision as a way to forestall telling their client they aren’t having luck with publishers?