PDA

View Full Version : Important milestone - first draft of first novel finished!

Elorenalory
01-14-2014, 05:27 PM
Last night I wrote THE END under the first draft of my very first novel... and I am not really sure how I feel about that at the moment.

First of all I feel excited. I did it! I managed to stick with a story until the end. I proved to myself at least that I am a writer.

But I also feel lost now, and a bit scared. I have a first draft, now what? I have never gotten this far until now, so I am entering uncharted territories. What do I do now? How do I go about rewriting and editing this? I must admit that the thought of all the work ahead is paralyzing.

So I need your advice on how to proceed from here. How do I turn my first draft into the book it deserves to be?

Phaeal
01-14-2014, 06:02 PM
CGs and my immediate suggestion:

Let the first draft rest for four-six weeks while you read Renni Browne and Dave King's Self-Editing for Fiction Writers. This comprehensive and highly approachable book will give you an overview of the editing process and the "lingo" of fiction writing.

Because editing is the next step, and it's not nearly as scary as some books (and people) would have you believe. Yeah, there's so much to think about -- does the plot hang together, do the characters act like real people, is that the right structure, the right chapter break, the right word? -- but you can break the process into doable chunks. My own approach: Plan on a series of subsequent drafts, each concentrating on a different thing. For example:

Second draft: Address big picture issues, like plot coherence, overall structure, character arcs

Third draft: Fine-tune the above; start fretting about the language itself.

Fourth draft: Really fret the language itself: polish!

The other important thing: Breathe and indulge in the forbidden pleasures of your choice. You have a completed first draft, without which nothing!

CGs!

Elorenalory
01-14-2014, 06:08 PM