PDA

View Full Version : Paid review services?

AlexJohnston
01-05-2014, 03:06 PM
Happy New Year all!

I'm new to the forum and I'm new to indie publishing so I'm sure I'll be here with lots of questions down the line.

But I'll start with one straightforward one. Does anyone have any thoughts on the value of using one of the various sites that offer paid-for reviews?

I've just published my debut novel on Kindle. I'm not out to make money, but I'd like to get it noticed, and I feel like getting some reviews is vital to this, and I've noticed various services that will professionally review a book for around $100.

Has anyone used such services, and did you feel it was worthwhile?

If not, any other tips for getting the book reviewed, either just reader reviews on Amazon, or elsewhere? At the moment it feels a bit like it might be a case of waiting to be struck by lightning!

stephenf
01-05-2014, 03:42 PM
Hi
Personally ,I would not pay for a Critique .There are plenty of people who are willing to give their time for free , on this site and others . A single critique , even a professional one, has a limited usefulness . I believe you need to form a consensus from as many people as possible. If you are not too bothered about making money You can post your book here
www.feedbooks.com
Good Luck

Cathy C
01-05-2014, 04:10 PM
For the publications that offer paid reviews, I would caution that the fact you're paying does not guarantee a favorable review or that it will be selected for publication. All it guarantees is that the book will wind up on a reviewer's desk and that s/he will write a review. Publishers like Krikus and PW don't publish all the reviews that are created, and are often scathing.

Now, that said, there are usually great bits to be pulled out of an otherwise meh review, and the mere fact a review exists can generate sales. You will receive the review by email, whether or not it's published.