I CAN'T TAKE IT ANYMORE AND DON'T KNOW WHERE TO POST THIS AND DON'T CARE HEEELP!

Status
Not open for further replies.

bcinfrance

Registered
Reaction score
I am an incipient freelance writer, married, mother of two, still working practically full-time. I am getting some good feedback on my blogs (specialized, objective stuff, not a big rant like what I am about to write) and want to work on them diligently because it's such a thrill but THE FAMILY IS SUCH A BARRIER! I CAN'T TAKE IT!Today to write for 50 minutes it took me:

-Over two hours of computer negotiating and waiting time

-One big fight with my husband because he wanted to mouth off for 45 minutes about local political issues during my precious 6am-7am writing time. I even stopped writing to listen to him while doing some more mindless stuff (putting on makeup, a bit of picking up the mess) in order to show him I AM AVAILABLE TO LISTEN and I got YELLED AT FOR NOT CARING ABOUT WHAT HE WAS SAYING because WHILE HE WAS TRYING TO TALK I WAS PUTTING ON MY MAKE-UP!!!!

-All of my energy because I also worked all day, took my kids to two doctors appointments, and went grocery shopping!

I know all the stuff about setting up office space, having a separate computer, etc. but I don't yet and all I want is some encouragement!!!!
Thanks a billion!!!!

roach

annoyed and annoying
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.idiorhythmic.net
There was a similar discussion up on the Novels forum. It's really hard to get any writing done when you don't have any support. (*she types as the baby is laying in her crib refusing to nap*)

Some things you might try:

* If hubby starts talking politics, start talking writing. He might get the hint.

* Rather than negotiating make a rule: "From the hours of 6 am to 7 am I write. Don't presume I'm free for chatting, because I'm not." This will require that you actually write during this time. Doing anything else (make-up, etc.) could be seen as a sign that you aren't serious.