A question about book publishers and agents

SHBueche

What happened to my LIFE?!
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.ShelleyBueche.com
Hi All--This has probably been covered, so please forgive me in advance (I searched the archives and didn't see the topic, so I was motivated to start a new discussion), here's my question:

If you have an agent, but find a publisher for your work on your own, how exactly does this work? I am sure this is covered in the contract, but I would like to know if anyone at the forums has experienced this before.

Thanks y'all!

Valona

Registered
Reaction score
I'm not an expert. Never had anything accepted by either agent or publisher yet. However, from all I've read, if you have an agent and find a publisher who's interested before the agent can find him/her, your agent will be delighted. It's easy money for him/her inasmuch as he/she doesn't have to do the marketing bit. All he/she has to do is the negotiations for you and collect your money.

Cathy C

Ooo! Shiny new cover!
Kind Benefactor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.cathyclamp.com
I guess my first question would have to be, "Why are you looking for a publisher when you have an agent to do that?"

Now, if it's a publisher that you had queried BEFORE you found the agent then, by all means, let your agent know the name of the editor and phone number to contact them. It's the agent's job to get the synopsis and manuscript to the publisher and push for a deal. That's what they get paid for. Now, if you don't WANT to include the agent in a deal you found (i.e., not paying the commission), then you'll have to look at your Agency Agreement to see how that's handled. Asking here won't probably do much good, since every deal is different. This would probably be a better question for a publishing law (entertainment law) attorney.