Status
Not open for further replies.

Matthew Hughes

Old Pro
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.matthewhughes.org
I'm a midlist author of science fiction, science-fantasy, and crime fiction. After selling 17 novels to trade publishers of various sizes and almost 60 stories to pro markets, earlier this year I launched a self-publishing venture. I epubbed some of my backlist novels and put together collections of short stories that had run in F&SF, Asimov's, and other venues.

I started in February with two novels and gradually added to the list until I had nine titles out, including one trunk book. Results were not bad, I thought. I was selling 9 or 10 ebooks a day, and the add-on of four POD paperback titles added 20 or 30 sales a month.

Over the past three months, however, sales tailed off. I'm now selling two to three ebooks a day and only a dozen ppbks this month. So I reduced the price of one of my epubbed story collections to zero on Smashwords and Kobo, which led to Amazon price-matching the freebie (Amazon won't let you set a book at $0.00; pricing is at their discretion).

I also paid BookBub $80 for a promotion. Yesterday, they sent out an email to their 240,000 (they say) subscribers in the sf category. They'll also advertise the free download on their website untill December 4.

At the time of posting, it is 16 hours since I received the email advertising the freebie. I'm assuming everyone else on BookBub's sf list got it at the same time. Right now, Amazon is reporting 12,888 downloads of the collection, and Smashwords and Kobo show a few hundred more. The book is ranked number one in Amazon's free Kindle store, in the sf category.