What are the pitfalls of selling a trilogy or series?

Pisco Sour

Registered
Reaction score
Hi,
Sorry if this is long. I am looking for advice from writers who have sold a series of 3 or more books in one go. I have read through several threads on AW about stand-alones and series. Great advice, directed for the most part at unpublished writers: make your first book 'stand alone' mentioning series potential in queries. I'm a newbie writer also, but my angle is slightly different. I recently sold my first 2 books, both stand-alone contemporary romances.

I've taken a break from contemporary and have written Book One in a space opera romance trilogy. I asked my editor if I can pitch it as a whole. This, because I don't want Book 2 or 3 to get "stranded" if Book 1 doesn't sell. How could I sell the other 2 books if Book one is published elsewhere? Not impossible, perhaps, but difficult. And I cringe from the work involved in self-publishing... Anyway, my editor recommended a different pen name so as not to confuse readers, and said to send her Book One ms plus as much as an overview as I can of the other two books.

In case anybody patient enough to read this is wondering, Book One (84K) doesn't work as a stand-alone. It resolves my heroine's main problem (getting back to Earth) and develops the romantic interest, but ends with a deadly challenge. Book Two resolves that challenge, which is important for Book Three, and furthers the developing "will they/won't they" between H and her enemy, Book Three resolves overall political and romantic plot, with a HEA for heroine and hero. There's potential for Book 4 with a secondary character, but not developed in my head yet.

So, I'm wondering if anybody has had their trilogy (or series) contracted in its entirety and
a) is it better to write all the books first before you queried/pitched to your editor? Was that easier in the long run for plot continuity?