Writer Associations

Writer-2-Author

Registered
Reaction score
I've been thinking about joining a writers' association for several months now. Recently I've heard people say that belonging to an association of writers "sounds" good in the bio section of your query. Any truth to this? Are there benefits to joining one? As a memoir writer, I'm looking at the National Association of Memoir Writers. Thoughts???

Fruitbat

Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I don't know that it makes any difference unless you can show that it includes a large number of people who are likely to buy your book. I'd join for whatever other benefits you think you'd get from it, not only to impress a publisher.

Last edited:

ZachJPayne

Beware: #amQuerying
Registered
Reaction score
Website
zachjpayne.com
I'd go for it!

I know, personally, from looking at the Association for my genre (SCBWI), that there are plenty of benefits: regional and national meetups, a member's library, all kinds of resources.

But I think I would caution: Don't do it because it looks good on paper, only do it if they have something that interests you or will help you.

Old Hack

Such a nasty woman
Super Moderator
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
You need every word in your query to work hard selling your book. I don't see how mentioning that you belong to an association is going to do that, unless it's a association which only admits best-selling writers--in which case, you probably won't need to query.

I'd join such an association because you might find it useful or interesting or supportive; but I wouldn't do it in the hope that it would look good on your submissions.

Matthew Hughes

Old Pro
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.matthewhughes.org
I'd join such an association because you might find it useful or interesting or supportive; but I wouldn't do it in the hope that it would look good on your submissions.