Working in fast food

Mark Moore

Banned
Reaction score
A character in one of my WIPs works in fast food as a cashier. While I work in retail, and I'm sure that there are some similarities, I'm looking for ways to make the fast-food work environment seem more authentic.

Where is the time clock located?

Does the cashier wear her entire uniform to work, or is there something that's kept at the restaurant that she puts on after arrival and takes off before she leaves?

Does the cashier hop on the register right away to get the line down, or are there things that need to be done first?

Does the cashier have to sign into a register with a user ID and password, or are they "universal"?

How is the order transmitted to the workers in the back? Does it go through the register, or does the cashier have to wear a headset and speak the order?

Are front-end cashiers called upon to perform other tasks (drive-thru, trash, etc.)?

Any common issues that come up and how they're handled (customer complaints, wrong food prepared, etc.)?

Any fun fast-food stories to share?

MDSchafer

Banned
Reaction score
Website
firstfolio.blogspot.com
A character in one of my WIPs works in fast food as a cashier. While I work in retail, and I'm sure that there are some similarities, I'm looking for ways to make the fast-food work environment seem more authentic.

Does the cashier wear her entire uniform to work, or is there something that's kept at the restaurant that she puts on after arrival and takes off before she leaves?

Does the cashier hop on the register right away to get the line down, or are there things that need to be done first?

Does the cashier have to sign into a register with a user ID and password, or are they "universal"?

How is the order transmitted to the workers in the back? Does it go through the register, or does the cashier have to wear a headset and speak the order?

Are front-end cashiers called upon to perform other tasks (drive-thru, trash, etc.)?