I did something bad

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cleopatra Jones

Registered
Reaction score
When I quit my corporate job, I gave up smoking. I was a lawyer and whenever I got tense about a brief, I'd light up and the words seemed to flow.

Today, as I was writing a profile on an independent filmmaker (that gave a rather lousy interview, full of pretentious flighty nonesense), I was so frustrated that I lit up. And the writing has gone much better, which scares me. I really, really, really don't want to spiral back into frustration/smoking/writing cycle.

Does anyone have any tips for self-relaxation that don't involve narcotics?? I want to be a writer, but I don't want to get all William Faulkner about it.

Cleopatra Jones

Registered
Reaction score
Oops! Sorry about that, jd! I've got to do more poking around here and get more familiar with the threads.

Shadow Ferret -- things aren't that bad yet!!

AdamH

Pumped Up Kicks
Registered
Reaction score
Cleopatra Jones said:
Does anyone have any tips for self-relaxation that don't involve narcotics?? I want to be a writer, but I don't want to get all William Faulkner about it.

For me relaxation is different depending on the time of day I get frustrated. Sometimes I go for a walk outside, or play some sport. Basically, anything active outside. If it's too late for that or if the weather is pretty bad then I find a room to myself and listen to some music. Anything to seperate myself to what I'm working on. It's in those clear moments when I'm not thinking about anything when I get through any blocks I might be stuck on.

Also, the shower is great for me too but if I did that everytime I ran into a wall, my skin would be red, raw, and prunny. :)

StoryG27

Miss Behave
Registered
Reaction score