PDA

View Full Version : Skyhorse Publishing

Undercover
04-16-2012, 02:13 AM
I searched to see if it was on the AW list and I can't find it. Has anyone dealt with this company before?

http://www.skyhorsepublishing.com/

twm
04-16-2012, 02:21 AM
They are well regarded and have put out several bestselling novels. They are open to unsolicited submissions. Good luck!

FoamyRules
04-16-2012, 02:30 AM
From their submission's page they seem to be a non fiction publisher?

kaitie
04-16-2012, 02:32 AM
Looks like they do mostly non-fiction.

Undercover
04-16-2012, 02:36 AM
Yeah, but they have other imprints including Sky Pony for children's books which I thought was interesting.

FoamyRules
04-16-2012, 11:54 PM
Well their About Us page over on the Skyhorse tab does give the name of the person who started it and lists his experience in publishing from what I see. I give them an A on their website, it seems to be directed towards readers from what I can tell. But I'm not an expert on publishing, someone who has more experience can give you more insight.

LillyPu
04-16-2012, 11:58 PM
A friend of mine has a recent release with Skyhorse--a memoir--and is enjoying their marketing efforts on his behalf. Sales are good.

kellion92
04-17-2012, 05:32 AM
I know someone who has a picture book coming out from Sky Pony. It's the new children's imprint for Skyhorse, which announced last summer, and the PB in question looks fun, commercial, and well illustrated.

Al Stevens
05-09-2012, 02:10 AM
From their website's submissions page:

http://www.skyhorsepublishing.com/guidelines/

Unfortunately, due to the volume of queries, we will not be able to respond to everyone. However, you may request an immediate review (two business days) for a $100 rush fee payable in advance by check.

I haven't seen that before. Is this a common practice?

kellion92
05-09-2012, 05:32 AM