Is My English Getting Terrible Because I'm learning Other Languages?

thisisobservantme

Registered
Reaction score
So I've been learning French through Rosetta Stone for the past 11 months and am beginning to learn Arabic. To fully immerse myself, I've been talking in French at home when I can (my parents do not appreciate this), texting in French and listening to French music.
I've noticed lately that it's difficult for me to speak in English because I can't say a coherent sentence ad lib. My writing seems unaffected (you can be the judge of that), but I'm really bothered that it's hard for me to speak in my native tongue!

Has this happened to anyone else as they learned a new language?

chompers

Registered
Reaction score
No, it didn't happen to me. (I know five languages.) But I had a good grasp of each one before I began learning the next one. Maybe that's a contributing factor?

I have a friend whose niece had kind of the same problem. Her teachers thought she might have had a learning disability, Turns out she was just having problems getting all her languages straight. (Parents were different ethnicities, so she was learning both, plus English at school.) Doctors told her parents that it would pass as she got older.

Last edited:

Fran

Slate grey mole person
Registered
Reaction score
Not with English, but whenever I've tried to learn a language other than French, if I don't know the word for something my brain defaults to French. I don't know why. Sometimes it's a word in French I wasn't aware I knew. It's weird.

Deleted member 42

There's a sort of saturation point in learning a new language where it can a little bit like you're drowning, and have no words in any language, even for the most basic concepts.

It passes; I think what's happening is that our brains are working on the back-end, processing and integrating.

Snitchcat

Dragon-kitty.
Registered
Reaction score