Square One: My Self-Publishing Diary

Status
Not open for further replies.

wittyblather

Registered
Reaction score
Hi! I'm pretty new here, but ever since I discovered this forum, it's been one of my favorites. I just love reading about everyone's success. I've always had a soft spot for independent production and art, and seeing writer's going for their dream come hell or high water inspires me like nothing else. You folks are the reason I decided to do this in the first place!

So, as you may have gathered from the title, I am an utter noob when it comes to all things publishing. I have lots of experience writing, but no official training, and I'm trying to work on my skills before I start working on my manuscript. Yup, you read that right: I haven't finished my novel yet. Haven't even started, though I don't feel bad about it just yet, since it's my NaNo project. But in the meantime, I've been doing intense research on how to navigate the publishing and promotion process. I have hundreds of pages bookmarked, and I am clumsily trying to build a social media presence before I start trying to market anything. I wouldn't say it's been a rousing success so far, but I'm trying.

In the meantime, I thought I'd start this journal thread anyway, so I can document how things are going. I hope that it's allowed, even though I don't have a finished manuscript yet. I'll only be talking about my self-publishing concerns, of course. My writing woes will go elsewhere - to a bar, most likely.

Anyway, here's my to-do list!
  • Finish reading my genre research list (YA scifi - good LORD, there's a lot it)
  • Finish prep for NaNo
  • Regularly update blog (!!!)
  • Start using twitter, look into getting a facebook page and a website
  • Become more active on GoodReads
  • Locate affordable editing/proofreading/cover services
  • Failing that, locate money (has anyone had any luck with PubSlush?)
  • At some point, write novel