I don't write erotica...yet everyone wants it!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christyp

Lizard Lady
Registered
Reaction score
After querying for close to twelve hours today I've only been able to send out...ready?....fourteen! It seems the pull right now is for erotica and romance. Sure, my books have some romantic elements, but they aren't necessarily romance. Sure, my books have an erotic scene or two, but they are NOT erotica!

Is anyone else having issues getting their books in front of people because of the latest "Wants"?

gingerwoman

Registered
Reaction score
Um I am puzzled. What are you looking at? There are lots of publishers and agents looking for all kinds of fiction. How are you going about looking?
(I am a published erotic romance writer. lol )

Christyp

Lizard Lady
Registered
Reaction score
Um I am puzzled. What are you looking at? There are lots of publishers and agents looking for all kinds of fiction. How are you going about looking?
(I am a published erotic romance writer. lol )

I always start here and make sure they're somewhat credible before going anywhere else. I guess I should've added YA. Everyone seems to want erotica, romance, or YA. I don't write in any of those genres, and I'm getting so frustrated! I know it was just the first day, and I probably won't be so grumpy tomorrow, but I feel like the last kid picked at the game. lol:Shrug:

justbishop

Proud Literary Sadist
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.ashleyheckman.com
Christyp, I had trouble finding a NON-romance epub accepting shorter lengths for my 24k word YA contemp. If they weren't strictly HEA romance, then they specialized in LGBT stuff, which my story was not. I found scant few places to sub my MS to, and feel lucky to have found one that was a good fit.