What's the worse thing about hiring an online graphic designer?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Treysaur21

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.wattpad.com
If this isn't the write forum, I'll be happy to move it!
I've been wracking my brain all day trying to figure out how I'm going to find a large group of writers/self-publishing authors to run a survey by, and I only just remembered I'm a member here! My brain is a silly place sometimes.
So, the question I want to ask is simple: What annoys you most about hiring a graphic designer for whatever it is you may need them to do? What are the reasons behind why you would not hire one? have you had any bad experiences with a designer?
Are you designer yourself?
Do the services all cost too much?
Too many pesky fees?
Anything else?
I am a ebook cover designer as well as a self-pubbed author, and part of growing my new business is doing market research. I hope you guys can help!

Maryn

Baaa!
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I am not a graphic designer and I have never hired one--but I've read the troubles some people have had (and the good experiences others have had) when hiring graphic designers, here and a little elsewhere.

The complaints I've heard voiced are
  • the portfolio or samples of work were much better than the finished product received
  • the finished work was not received when agreed upon--usually with some plausible excuse--which led to delays and scheduling problems for promotion arrangements already in place
  • the writer did not get a contract which protected him/her in the event of non-performance or non-delivery
  • the contract made no allowance for the writer not being satisfied with the work
  • the writer was not able to make the artist understand what was wanted, so the end product, while of good quality, was not acceptable