PDA

View Full Version : OK to Nudge?

Jessica_312
10-11-2013, 06:13 PM
So I sent in my requested novel revisions to an agent exactly one month ago today. I know it can take quite some time for an agent to get through a full manuscript, so it's not like I was already expecting an answer. However, sometimes I check this particular agent's twitter, and she'd apparently tweeted that she's been having trouble with her email and hasn't been receiving some messages. So of course, now I'm worried that she'd never even gotten my revisions and that she thinks I missed my deadline. But on the flip side, I'm worried that if I send an email and she HAD received my manuscript, that she'll think I'm just impatient.

Anyway, I know I may be severely overthinking this, but I could use some advice. I'm still new to this whole R&R request thing and I don't want to blow it over something trivial.

Thedrellum
10-11-2013, 06:56 PM
Jessica,

If she never responded to your e-mail with the R&R, then I'd probably send an e-mail. I'd mention what she said on Twitter about the e-mail problems and how you're checking up just to make sure the R&R got through.

Best of luck!

(I say the above because most of the agents who I'd had multiple contacts with made a point of letting me know the the "next step" was received from me.)

folkchick
10-11-2013, 07:54 PM
Agreeing with Thedrellum, send out another email saying yours might have been one of the lost emails and you just wanted to make sure she got it. Best of luck!

Aggy B.
10-11-2013, 08:00 PM
I would follow up to make certain she'd gotten the revisions.