PDA

View Full Version : Is it wise to let people read your WIP chapter by chapter?

Livilla
10-09-2013, 04:07 PM
I'm talking about a WIP that is far from finished, let alone polished.

I confess I do this and send a chapter to the kind people who have expressed interest in my writing every couple of weeks, but I still suspect the answer to my question is a resolute "no." I would love to hear about your experience and opinions, though. And I hope I put this in the appropriate subforum.

thothguard51
10-09-2013, 04:44 PM
The question is why?

What benefit do you or the readers gain from one chapter every two weeks, or once a week?

quicklime
10-09-2013, 05:32 PM
also thinking "why?"

If it isn't polished.....

as a writer i wouldn't send anything that rough, because as a beta, I'd resent getting something that clearly unfinished and rough, and the expectation I should either do all the heavy lifting and correct the low-hanging, easy stuff too, or try to wade through it and give opinions on if the story is solid when its buried inder a bunch of future edits and re-writes....honestly, I've gotten a few things like that, and its pissed me off

mamiller512
10-09-2013, 05:37 PM
It would depend on what level of review you want. I trade with beta readers and initially I get the full MS so I don't wonder if certain plot issues will be resolved. I then ask for a chapter at a time and we trade back and forth. I edit chapter by chapter because I do a line-by-line as well as look at the general issues. Time doesn't always allow for me to do a whole book in one sitting. I try to write every day and if I get a whole novel, I don't want to make people wait too long before getting feedback. If you have ever done line-by-line and general critique for something that big, boy-howdy, it can suck up quite a bit of you precious writing time.

mamiller512
10-09-2013, 05:39 PM