For the Self-Publishing Is Dark and Full of Terrors

Status
Not open for further replies.

LOTLOF

Registered
Reaction score
[FONT=&quot]Finally decided to go ahead and post one of these. Back when I was just lurking I spent a lot of time in the Self-Publishing and POD forum. Reading about the experiences of others gave me a lot of information about self-publishing and helped me make my own decision to go that route. While my path has been, shall we say, unique? It might provide others with some insights. Or at the very least a few laughs.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]I am a fan of science fiction and fantasy. With my greatest love being reserved for epic fantasy. My favorite authors include Tolkien, George R R Martin, Colleen McCullough, Harry Turtledove, Robert Jordan, Brandon Sanderson, Tracy Hickman, Margaret Weis, Robert Asprin, Douglas Adams, and Stephen King. I am a discovery writer who thrives on chaos and takes great pride in surprising my readers. I believe in characterization above plot, have a terribly sarcastic sense of humor, and have been known to kill characters just for snoring.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]I have been writing since High School. I won’t tell you when that was, but I will tell you Bon Jovi’s ‘Never Say Goodbye’ was the graduation song. For a very long time I wrote my stories into notebooks that almost no one was ever allowed to read. I would submit short stories to various magazines, only to see them all rejected. Writing was my passion and being published and seeing my novel on a bookstore shelf was my dream. And while I spent years writing I don’t think I improved all that much. I wanted to be a published author and have millions of people read my books, but at the same time I was afraid to let anyone read my work who might actually criticize it.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]