PDA

View Full Version : Establishing a "platform" for self help

mnstate409
02-21-2006, 06:51 AM
I am a self help writer with a manuscript in hand that has been favorably received by some agents. They, however, have passed on representation since I "do not have a platform." I have been told that this is the "big thing now."

I am a Ph.D. with impressive credentials, and am an authority in my field. As both an practicing and academic Clinical Psychologist, I am a well experienced and well qualified to write about marriage. Though the book I wrote is praised, it seems that the platform thing is more important than the book and that I need a "platform" to secure legitimate representation.

Anyone out there have any wisdom for me? How is a platform different from a marketing plan? What are the components of a platform? What are the "ten basic steps" that I need to pursue to develop a platform? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Cathy C
02-21-2006, 07:31 PM
First I need to know a few things:

1. What is your self-help about?

2. Does it relate to your PhD and how?

3. Who is your target audience (general public or professionals?)

I can give you some suggestions once I know these things. :)

UrsusMinor
02-22-2006, 12:39 AM
The main thing they're looking for here is public appearances of some sort. They'd like it if you were running couples workshops, wandering around the country like John Gray. Or better yet, running your mouth on TV like Dr. Phil.

What they'd like is a guaranteed, captive audience, the larger the better. Since we don't quite live in a dictatorship yet, there is no guaranteed audience, but the closer you can get to one, the happier they will be.

There was a time when a good book was enough. Later, a good book plus your credentials would have been good enough. Now they want more.

Yeah, it ties into your marketing plan. What they are saying is, Who is this guy?

You're answering, I'm a respected, well-established expert in the field.