Real Life vs. Blog Life

emeraldcite

Art is Resistance
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.emeraldcite.blogspot.com
One of the difficulties I face as a blogger is real lifers accessing my blog life. Since I'm a teacher at a high school, I have to be careful what I say. Some of my students found my old livejournal (although none of them were smart enough to use the info garnered there to find my new blog) and asked me about it.

Luckily, I did not say anything too embarrassing on it. Mostly, I used it to track some writing I was doing at the time and my job search. There were one or two posts about alcohol and quite a few about politics, but none of my students mentioned these.

I have since then made some of my posts private, but left others up. I tried to keep enough there that students wouldn't notice that I took stuff down making it a game of hide and seek on information.

I originally had my name on my blog, but took it down since google actually started putting my blog on the first page of searches for various things. I'm careful not to mention my school name or where I live so that it doesn't come up in search results.

At this point, my blog is pretty innocuous. I don't blog about embarrassing personal issues or complain about my job (don't want any tech savvy co-workers or administrators fearing that I might leave).

Anyone else have this dilemma with real life intersecting with blog life?

jst5150

Vorpal Comics. Weekly Podcast. Twitch Artist. Vet
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
jasontudor.com
Like being in the military?