Rights Question

grizzletoad1

Plodding around into things.
Registered
Reaction score
Since I have yet to even get an acceptance from any agent or publisher for my MS, I know I'm putting the cart 25 miles ahead of the horse here, but I still have this question about rights. I have heard that a few publishers that don't deal through agents ask you to give them all rights to the story. Now I'm no legal expert, but to me that seems that you are surrendering any ownership of the story to the publisher, who can then do what he wants with it. And then let's say that your story becomes successful enough for idea-starved Hollywood to come calling to make a film out of your story. I'm guessing since you no longer hold the rights, they can come and just scoop up the story from the publisher without even talking to you. And then they can go on and rip your story apart to suit themselves, put out a film that in no way bears any resemblance to the novel you invested years writing and yet your name will forever be tagged to the stink-bomb of a film they've made as having been based on the novel you wrote but have surrendered your rights to. Do I have it right? So, coming back to reality, SHOULD I ever get an offer from a publisher to publish my ms, do I HAVE to surrender my rights, or can I protect them and retain the rights so that, like Major League Baseball says, no changes can be made to my story, "Without my express written consent?"

Old Hack

Such a nasty woman
Super Moderator
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
I have heard that a few publishers that don't deal through agents ask you to give them all rights to the story.

This is true of some publishers which do work with agents, too.

Now I'm no legal expert, but to me that seems that you are surrendering any ownership of the story to the publisher, who can then do what he wants with it.

It's important for rights to reside with whoever can best exploit them.