Agent response time QUESTION.

Status
Not open for further replies.

pviteritti

Registered
Reaction score
Four agents requested my full ms about three months ago, one requested the full after reading the partial. I've been in contact with all four at least once or twice, and I know two have already read the book but not responded yet. Does anyone know the process? If its a good sign to wait this long? I've never waited this long for a response before.

EMaree

a demon for tea
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.emmamaree.com
Three months is a normal amount of time to wait. It's neither good nor bad, it's a pretty common length of time to wait for a full response.

Keep waiting patiently, try to resist the urge to contact the agents, and good luck.

pviteritti

Registered
Reaction score
Oh, I know how long it takes. I've been writing and rewriting and dealing with agents for 10 years, but I've never waited that long AFTER the agent has read the full MS.

Debbie V

Mentoring Myself and Others
Registered
Reaction score
Sometimes they just get busy. Fingers crossed for you and welcome to the boards.

Aggy B.

Not as sweet as you think
Registered
Reaction score
Oh, I know how long it takes. I've been writing and rewriting and dealing with agents for 10 years, but I've never waited that long AFTER the agent has read the full MS.

I had a query a month or so ago that went to a second agent for review. (It was still a rejection, but you can't win them all.) Could be the agency has "acquisitions" meetings. Or the agent is consulting with one of the principles/another colleague to confirm that this is something they want to take on.

I remember reading that when junior agents make an offer, the contract has to be reviewed by a senior agent. I'd imagine there's some sort of review at the pre-offer stage too.