Self-publishing (mostly) back catalog

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zoe X. Rider

Registered
Reaction score
Website
zoexrider.tumblr.com
I have some stories that were originally published in anthologies and small press magazines forever ago that I have the rights to reprint. Self-publishing offers a good way to get them back out there, so I recently dug out a story and got to work.

I had planned to go over the story for a quick edit before offering it as an ebook, but once I started reading, I realized it needed a lot more than that (which is heartening, I suppose: it would be disappointing to find out I hadn't learned anything in the decade since I wrote it). I ended up doing two major revisions followed by four or five proofreads. I also had another writer read it and catch a few more errors. The original story was about 16k. After revisions, it's 34k (and much less whiplash inducing)—long enough to justify a slim print edition as well.

One of the things I do for a living is page design for industrial magazines, so laying out the interior for print was easy (and fun!). Doing the ebook layout was even simpler—no widows, orphans or hyphenation to worry about.

My graphic design skills are passable (but not my strongest suit)—still I decided to go ahead and do my own cover for it. I enjoyed working on it as a break from the revisions.

I also came up with a name for my self-publishing venture (Hela Press) and purchased ISBNs so the book would look less obviously self-published. I set up a website for the press, so I could collect all the info—blurb, buy links, links to reviews, etc.—in one place. (I maybe should have done it for the pen name rather than the press, but holdenwells.com was taken, and I didn't think to go with holdenwellsauthor.com or something—it's something to put on the to-do list, though.)