PDA

View Full Version : Overheard Conversations

Susan Littlefield
08-26-2013, 06:47 PM
As writers, we all know the importance of people-watching, and of course eavesdropping.

An overheard conversation while reading my kindle in a communal seating area at the mall (as a preface, I learned all the following from eavesdropping): a 39 year old man comes along and starts a conversation with a lady at least 25 years his senior that he's seen on the bus. He does everything he can to get her to go out with him, including saying "he's been with older women before and it's all right," "I come from an extremely wealth family," "I'm just starting my business up and it's doing really well," and on and on, until he finally asks her out. She politely declined and the encounter ended there.

Well, as a writer, I can think of a million ways to spin that conversation into a story.

Have you overheard any conversations you've thought of putting into a story, or which you have written about? Do tell!

robjvargas
08-26-2013, 07:42 PM
I had one conversation tug my heart badly. Back in the early 1990's, I was in the US Navy, submarines. Being an electrician and the sub in port, it was my job to cross over from the boat (a sub is not a ship!) to the pier to check the shore power connection.

One evening, I went topside. A fellow bubblehead was standing on the deck. A woman with a crying child was standing on the pier. She was begging him to come home. The baby had a fever, one of her family had been in an accident, and she needed help. He tried three times to explain that he was on watch and could not leave the boat.

Families of military members deserve three times the benefits they get. And more. I can't count anymore the number of times I went to the on-base store and saw wives paying with food stamps.

I lost two wonderful girlfriends because I couldn't subject them to that kind of life.

Siri Kirpal
08-26-2013, 10:12 PM