• Read this stickie before posting.

• In order to reduce the number of new members requesting a Beta reader before they're really ready for one, we've instituted a 50 post requirement before you can start a thread seeking a Beta reader.
    • You can still volunteer to Beta for someone else; just please don't request someone to Beta for you until you're more familiar with the community and our members.

Tips on how to be a good beta reader

Status
Not open for further replies.

sugarhit

Writing a novel on my lunchbreaks
Registered
Reaction score
As a soon-to-be published author, I am going to call in some troops to beta read for me. Of course, where possible, I'd like to return the favor.

I haven't beta read since college and am extremely rusty. What, in your opinion, makes a good beta reader?

Kerosene

Your Pixie Queen
Registered
Reaction score
There's some stickies in the Beta Readers forum you might want to read.

What I like from a beta reader:
- Someone who knows the genre that they are reading and understands the common tropes and what is accepted. You can't step into a romance and say, "There's too much romance, and I'm more interested in blah."
- Someone who asks a lot of questions, and aren't afraid to ask stupid ones and tough ones. I like it when I can tell what the reader is thinking and questioning at certain times, and if I'm having them question the right or the wrong things. Some questions can be left alone if I know they should be asked then, others can lead me to fixing the areas where the questions were asked.
- Someone who pokes holes in my story without arguing or trying to persuade me over their points.
- Someone who knows it's not their story, and I am not writing it the way they wish and are accepting of that.
- Someone who withholds suggestions until asked.