PDA

View Full Version : Is it worth it to look for an agent only for foreign rights ?

Grenouille Bleue
08-21-2013, 04:17 PM
Greetings,

I am a french published author, and am really lucky to be doing pretty well in France (got three books published, two more due in January). One of them got an award and sold more than 30,000. It might seem very low for you folks in the US but it's pretty nice for France. At least my publisher seems happy ( ) and it allowed me to quit my job and be a full-time writer.

Anyway, here's the thing: my publisher will be trying to sell the foreign rights to some other countries at the Berlin Fair, and he thinks it might make it in spanish and german. But he told me the english market was much more difficult to penetrate - only the biggest french best-sellers would get a chance to be bought and translated. Obviously, this isn't my case.

So I was wondering how I could be handling this foreign rights stuff in the United States. Should I just drop it, or should I try and get things done ?

I'm wondering whether it would be useful for me to get an agent for the sole purpose of negociating the US rights. Is it common practice, or would it be better to just query the publisher directly ?

As an aside, agents almost don't exist in France and even the biggest shots deal directly with publishers. So I don't have any agent as of yet, and my foreign rights are in the hands of my publisher.

Here's what my press attachée drafted for the Berlin fair:

http://img689.imageshack.us/img689/6607/ivtk.png

So, any thoughts ? Is it worth it ? How should I handle this ?

Thanks a lot for your help :D

Corinne Duyvis
08-21-2013, 06:20 PM
On the surface, I'd say yes, you can totally get an agent to sell your foreign rights, as long as you have a properly translated version of the book to shop.